January: Getting to Know You On a Personal Level. Speed Networking at Mesa Verde Country Club

The New Year got off to a great start with our first meeting at Mesa Verde Country Club. The newly renovated ball room at Mesa Verde Country Club made a perfect palette for this year’s pantone color – Marsala. The warm hue made an inviting evening to sit and enjoy new and old friends. We can not wait to see the future improvements in the works at Mesa Verde.

Speed networking was updated this year, as we focused on our personal relationships and developing friendships instead of solely knowing one another on a business level. We are looking forward to a fantastic and successful 2015!

Thank you to all the vendors that sponsored this meeting, we can’t do it without you!

Venue – Mesa Verde Country Club – www.mesaverdecc.com

Coordination – Table7 Events – www.table-seven.com

Photography – Kimberly April Photography – www.kimberlyapril.com

Linens – Luxe Linen – www.luxelinen.org

Flowers – Flower Fusion – www.flowerfusion.net

Stationary – AmpersandInk Designs – www.ampersandinkdesigns.com

Video – Perryfield Films – www.perryfieldfilms.com

Entertainment – Andy Nation Productions – www.andynation.com

2015-02-05_0001.jpg
2015-02-05_0002.jpg
2015-02-05_0003.jpg
2015-02-05_0004.jpg
2015-02-05_0005.jpg
2015-02-05_0006.jpg
2015-02-05_0007.jpg
2015-02-05_0008.jpg
2015-02-05_0009.jpg
2015-02-05_0010.jpg
2015-02-05_0011.jpg
2015-02-05_0012.jpg
2015-02-05_0013.jpg
2015-02-05_0014.jpg
2015-02-05_0015.jpg
2015-02-05_0016.jpg
2015-02-05_0017.jpg
2015-02-05_0018.jpg
2015-02-05_0019.jpg
2015-02-05_0020.jpg
2015-02-05_0021.jpg
2015-02-05_0022.jpg
2015-02-05_0023.jpg
2015-02-05_0020.jpg
2015-02-05_0024.jpg

April Open Meeting: Chuck Jones by 24 Carrots

Tuesday, April 9, 2013 – Chuck Jones by 24 Carrots

by Bethany Thomas, ABC-OC Communications Chair
Commemory Fine Art

You know the saying ‘if the walls could talk’? Then you probably heard what this cast of characters said about last week’s ABC-OC event at Chuck Jones by 24 Carrots 

“Allow me to introduce myself, my name is Mud. Brilliance. That’s all I can say. Sheer, unadulterated brilliance!” Wile E. Coyote

“The way I run this thing you’d think I knew something about it (24) Carrots are devine… You get a dozen for a dime, It’s maaaa-gic!” Bugs Bunny

“You know, it is possible to be too attractive. Do not come wiz me to ze Casbah – we shall make beautiful musicks togezzer right here!” Pepe Le Pew

Afterward, our own characters had this to say about the evening on our group Facebook page –

“I learned about two new categories and other changes about the Trendsetter Awards from Stacey Hofflich Gitten of Hitching Post Public Relations. I also learned all about fabrics from Rrivre Davies ….I am now doing bridal gown design. No more event film making for me,” Steve Moses

“I’m an animated person. To be surrounded by animated characters was wonderful. Even the shyest of people were animated just being there.” Alan Katz

“The flourless chocolate cake by 24 carrots was INCREDIBLE!” Katherine Hoggard

“The salad bar was fun and delicious!” Niloufar Sanai Gibson

“The Trendsetter categories and rules are now posted on our website at http://abc-oc.net/trendsetters. Entries will be accepted starting mid-May!” Stacey Gitten

 Thank you to our talented sponsors!

Venue | Chuck Jones by 24 Carrots | http://chuckjonesby24.com/
Catering: 24 Carrots Catering | www.24carrots.com
Speaker | Rrivre Davies | www.rrivreworks.com
Florals | Flowers Etc. | www.flowersetcweddings.com
Paper Designs | AmpersandInk | www.ampersandinkdesigns.com
Rentals: FormDécor | www.formdecor.com
Rentals | Signature Party Rentals | www.signatureparty.com
Linens | Designer Specialty Linens | www.designerspecialtylinens.com
Photography: Jacquelyn Rachel Photography | www.jacquelynrachel.com
Photo Booth & Videography | Godfather Films | www.godfatherfilms.com
Music | Dart DJ | www.dart-dj.com
Lighting and A/V | The Event Company | www.eventcompanyoc.com

 

Look for registration information via email and on our Facebook page. See you there!

Not a member yet? Join today and attend our events at our member rates.

 

June Coordinator Luncheon: Five Crowns

by Bethany Thomas,
Commemory Fine Art, ABC-OC Communications Chair

Five Crowns, the host of the June ABC-OC coordinator luncheon, is a charming replica of one of England’s oldest country inns and a Corona del Mar landmark. The venue offers warm hospitality and cozy fireplaces set among authentic antiques and period paintings. We all enjoyed the sunlit Greenhouse and colorful English garden where the event took place. We experienced the award-winning food and wine, exceptional service and distinctive style that have made Five Crowns by Lawry’s a dining destination since 1965.

The theme of the event coordinated by Kerri Hatter Weddings & Events was inspired by the ferns in the greenhouse and the new herb garden where ceremonies take place. It was a gorgeous feast for the eyes where each element was hand-picked to complement each other. “Everything matches perfectly,” said Barbi Walters of Bluebirds PCH. From the blue and tan burlap linens by Designer Specialty Linens, to the florals by French Buckets – it all coordinated beautifully.

An unexpected detail were the thoughtful and creative gifts provided by Tasha with AmpersandInk Designs, the paper goods sponsor. Tasha packaged up a delightfully printed recipe/thank you card on seed paper with the avocado mash recipe that was served at Five Crowns. Behind the card was a wooden spreader with a perfectly ripe avocado in a crisp white bag!

There was so much helpful information provided at the event by the speakers. Here are just a few highlights –

John Goolsby | Godfather Films | ABC State Coordinator – The Association of Bridal Consultants ‘Business of Brides” national conference Nov. 11-13 in Denver, Colorado

Kevin Covey | Kevin’s Parties– Highlights from Engage!12 Summit like how to speak to ‘Millenials’ – “necessity vs. luxury.” Everything is necessary!

Laurel Mungo | Mon Amie Bridal Salon – How to be prepared for brides when emergencies happen. Like how to fix a torn gown in a pinch to getting lipstick and wine stains out of the dress. Laurel encourages all planners to get a tour of their 20,000 square foot salon to see all the designers available at the salon and to meet their expert team of consultants.

Friar Tux – Bowties are coming back! 10 years ago they were worn 2% of the time. Now they are at 30% and rising! Plus, Friar Tux has a referral program just for planners.

 

Couples, their families and friends can enjoy a full-service experience at Five Crowns with the entire space giving everyone the feel that they are in a private English home. In the same space is SideDoor, an English style, neighborhood gastropub. And upstairs has private rooms where the bride and groom can get ready with their bridesmaids and groomsmen.

Thank you sponsors for your amazing services!

Venue | Five Crowns and Side Door | www.lawrysonline.com/five-crowns
Speaker & Bridal Gowns | Mon Amie Bridal Salon & Amy Michelson | www.monamie.com
Speaker | Friar Tux | www.friartux.com
Photography | Diandra Ann Photography | www.diandraann.com
Florist |  French Buckets | www.frenchbuckets.com
Linens | Designer Specialty Linens | www.designerspecialtylinens.com
Musicians | Del Lago Trio | www.dellagotrio.com
Paper Goods |  AmpersandInk Designs | www.ampersandinkdesigns.com

Don’t miss the July ABC-OC all member meeting on July 10th at Mastros Steakhouse South Coast Plaza. Register today.